RAILWAY HOTEL, WEST HORNDON, ESSEX

1972/1973 to 2011/2012 – 40 Years of Successive Darts by Victor Stubbington (Founder Member)

At the end of the 2011/12 season in the Brentwood Borough & District league, saw the Railway Hotel complete 40 seccessive years of darts.

Starting out in the South Ockendon & District darts league and playing on Thursday evenings; the format was 9 players playing singles, best of three legs of 201, and the throw was 9 feet.

Of the original 9 players, the only survivor is Me, Vic Stubbington, and I still attend all their matches; but now approaching 79 years old, I now limits himself to the stats man, logging all throws and averages.



The Original Railway Hotel Team

1st Left: **Steve Saunders** 3rd Left: **Arthur Cudbill** 7th Left: **Ernie Snowden** 8th Left: **Frank Fuller**

Sitting 2nd Right: **Vic Stubbington** 5th Right: **Len Thomas**

Photo taken in 1973

After winning the South Ockendon & District darts league title in 1991/2, the team joined the Brentwood Summer league in 1994; a 'B' team was formed and both teams joined the Brentwood (Ind Coope) winter league.

Of the current team, Graham Deans started in 1982 (30 years), Paul Sedge in 1986 (26 years) and Keith Parodi in 1993 (19 years). These are the three longest serving players.

Various players have come and gone over the years, but the current Railway Hotel team includes Simon Pratt, Roy Crabb, Cliff Reynolds, Keith Petrie and Del Cannon.

Many awards have been won during these years, culminating with the winning of the Charity Knockout Cup in their 40th year. Well done to all involved over an extraordinary 40 years!

The Current Railway Hotel Team

From left to right: Graham Deans, Paul Sedge, Cliff Reynolds, Vic Stubbington, Simon Pratt, Roy Crabb (part hidden), Del Cannon, Keith Parodi and Keith Petrie

Photo taken in 2012

