Spread Eagle Cup - Secretaries Cup (& Captains Cup)

56 Competitions... 39 Winners... 1 Total Unknown... 6 Names Unknown...

The **Spread Eagle Cup** was donated by "H. EADES & SONS LTD BRENTWOOD" and was originally the Division 2 Winners Cup for the 1963/64 season being named after the first winners, the Spread Eagle (Ingatestone)... *also see winter division 2 history*...

- In 1964/5 the Spread Eagle Cup was awarded to the winner of the Captains League and... ...the Division II runners-up cup was awarded to the winner of the Secretaries League...
- In 1965/6 to 1967/8 the Captain's & Secretaries played together as a pair.
- From 1967/68 to 1969/70 the Spread Eagle Cup was played for by each Team Captain.
- In 1970/71 the Spread Eagle was played for by the Team Secretaries or was it an engraving error!
- In 1971/72 the Spread Eagle Cup was played for by the Team Captain's.
- From 1972/73 to 2007/08 the Spread Eagle was played for by the Team Secretaries
- From the 2008/09 season the competition is played as a 2-man competition with the Team Captain!
- In 2014/15 season played as a League over 36 games (vs opposing Secretary, & Captain when playing at home)
- From 2015/16 season the competition returned as a 2-man competition with the Team Captain!
- From 2019 the Royal Steamer Cup became the joint Captains & Secretaries Cup!

Year Winner

1964/65	CAP: C Doe (Horse & Groom) SEC: B Howell (Black Bull, Blackmore)
1965/66 1966/67	
1967/68 1968/69 1969/70	CAP: M Fawcett (Crown)
1970/71	SEC: W Barclay (Leather Bottle)
1971/72	CAP: Geoff Course (Beehive)
1972/73 1973/74 1974/75 1975/76 1976/77 1977/78 1978/79 1979/80 1980/81 1981/82 1982/83 1983/84 1983/84 1984/85 1985/86 1986/87	No Record (Royal Oak) O. Parsons (Bell) No Record (Black Bull) Frank Tredgitt (Red Cow) Trevor Bright (Rose & Crown) David White (Black Bull) Peter Colvin (Eagle) No Record (Spread Eagle) Elaine ? (Green Man B) Pauline Arnold (Victoria) Douglas Theobald (Black Bull) Geoff Smith (Crown) Glen Allen (Three Stars)
1987/88 1988/89	Jim Wheldon (Black Bull) Dennis Gisby (Victoria A)

Runner-up

CAP: *No Record* (Two Brewers) SEC: D Lee (Queen)

P Bosfield & H Adams (Chequers) *No Record* (Prince Albert)

CAP: S Newman (Black Horse) CAP: T Cullen (Royal Steamer) CAP: M Adams (Thatchers Arms)

SEC: A Peck (Hare & Hounds)

CAP: W Barclay (Black Horse)

No Record No Record No Record No Record Shane Barry (Bird in Hand) D. Nolan (Black Bull) No Record David White (Black Bull) No Record *No Record* (Spread Eagle) Douglas Theobald (Black Bull) No Record No Record No Record Geoff Smith (Ingatestone Community Centre) Dennis Gisby (Victoria A) Ron Wood (Victoria B)

- 1989/90 Peter Sawford (Anchor) 1990/91 David Deed (Robin Hood) 1991/92 Dennis Gisby (Victoria A) 1992/93 Michael Emberson (Anchor) 1993/94 Geoff Course (Badda) 1994/95 Peter White (Plough A) 1995/96 Ron Wood (Beehive) 1996/97 Brian Burgess (Rising Sun) 1997/98 Ricky Elliott (Ship) 1998/99 Jim Wheldon (Chequers B) 1999/00 Alex Maitland (Royal Oak) 2000/01 Mark Robinson (Red Lion A) 2001/02 Mark Robinson (Red Lion A) 2002/03 Mark Robinson (Red Lion) 2003/04 Paul Williams (Charlie's Mob) 2004/05 Andrew Kateley (Chelmer Inn) 2005/06 Andrew Kateley (Chelmer Inn) 2006/07 Andrew Kateley (Chelmer Inn) 2007/08 Martin Compton (Spread Eagle Hammers) 2008/09 Barry Howgego (Oddfellows Arms) 2009/10 Andrew Kateley (Chelmsford SC B)
- 2010/11 Martin Compton (Black Bull Hammers)
- 2011/12 Andrew Kateley (Chelmsford SC B)
- 2012/13 Clinton Horne (Royal Oak)
- 2013/14 Senan Corry (Chelmsford SC)
- 2014/15 Robert Donat (Bentley Allstars)
- 2015/16 Chris Blumson (Gardeners)
- 2016/17 Jamie Palmer (Galley Enders)
- 2017/18 Martin Compton (Gardeners)

Geoff Course (Badda) Jim Wheldon (Black Bull) Bill Pinkney (Warley Stars) Bill Pinkney (Warley Stars) Gerry Smith (Prince Albert) Christopher Elphick (Bell) Kirk Little (Black Bull) Dean Willsher (Ship) Kevin Stammers (Alexandra B) Glynn Bridges (Black Bull) Dennis Gisby (Chequers B) Glynn Bridges (Black Bull) Mark Arnill (Crown) Alan Taylor (Fox & Hounds) Mark Robinson (Red Lion) Martin Compton (Black Bull, Chelmsford) Alan Church (Black Bull, Chelmsford) Senan Corry (Fox & Hounds A) Glynn Bridges (Black Bull)

Andrew Kateley (Chelmer Inn) Martin Compton (Black Bull Hammers) Jamie Uzzell (Forresters) Grant Hammond (Rising Sun Cockles) Adam Doe (Chelmsford SC) Robert Donat (Bentley Allstars)

Jamie Palmer (Galley Enders) & Bob Elliott (BMS Eagles)

Senan Corry (Chelmsford SC) Bob Elliott (BMS Eagles) Lewis Hayes (Compasses

THE CUP WAS DEEMED LOST IN 2018 WHEN NOT RETURNED FOR ENGRAVING