Division 1 History from 1948/1949

74 Seasons... 30 Winners...

The league formed in 1948 and the original perpetual trophy was a large wooden shield; this was given to the Viper public house to keep after winning the title for three consecutive seasons. The 2nd Shield was given to the Wheatsheaf in 1958 after they won the league for three consecutive seasons. The current Cup was introduced in 1958 and also has the Wheatsheafs' 3rd win engraved upon it. Note! Both original shields' were held at the Viper and Wheatsheaf respectively.

Year

Winners

1948/49	Spread Eagle (Ingatestone)
1949/50	Viper (Mill Green)
1950/51	Viper 'A' (Mill Green)
1951/52	Viper 'A' (Mill Green)
1952/53	Ship (Stock)
1953/54	Ship (Stock)
1954/55	Viper (Mill Green)
1955/56	Wheatsheaf (Nine Ashes)
1956/57	Wheatsheaf (Nine Ashes)
1957/58	Wheatsheaf (Nine Ashes)
1958/59	Thatcher's Arms (Radley Green)
1959/60	Thatcher's Arms (Radley Green)
1960/61	Thatcher's Arms (Radley Green)
1961/62	Prince Albert (Blackmore)
1962/63	Woolpack (Chelmsford)
1963/64	Prince Albert (Blackmore)
1964/65	Prince Albert (Blackmore)
1965/66	Prince Albert (Blackmore)
1966/67	Two Brewers (Chelmsford)
1967/68	Woolpack (Chelmsford)
1968/69	Prince Albert (Blackmore)
1969/70	Prince Albert (Blackmore)
1970/71	Prince Albert (Blackmore)
1971/72	Royal Oak (Ongar)
1972/73	Hare & Hounds (Roxwell)
1973/74	Hare & Hounds (Roxwell)
1974/75	Hare & Hounds (Roxwell)
1975/76	Leather Bottle (Blackmore)
1976/77	Leather Bottle (Blackmore)
1977/78	Leather Bottle (Blackmore)
1978/79	Red Cow (Shelley)
1979/80	Wheatsheaf (Writtle)
1980/81	Wheatsheaf (Writtle)
1981/82	Black Bull (Chelmsford)
1982/83	Black Bull (Chelmsford)
1983/84	Black Bull (Chelmsford)
1984/85	Black Bull (Chelmsford)
1985/86	Black Bull (Chelmsford)
1986/87	Alexandra (Warley)
1987/88	Alma (Chelmsford)
1988/89	Victoria 'A' (Writtle)

Runners-up No Record Anchor 'A' (Ingatestone) & Crown (Ingatestone) Black Bull (Margaretting) Viper 'B' (Mill Green) Viper (Mill Green) Viper (Mill Green) Bell (Ingatestone) Thatchers Arms (Radley Green) Thatchers Arms (Radley Green) The Club (Ingatestone) Black Horse (Stondon Massey) Three Stars (Chelmsford) Hare & Hounds (Roxwell) Two Brewers (Chelmsford) Prince Albert (Blackmore) Horse & Groom (Writtle) Woolpack (Chelmsford) Two Brewers (Chelmsford) Prince Albert (Blackmore) Prince Albert (Blackmore) Woolpack (Chelmsford) Bricklayers Arms (Stondon Massey) Hare & Hounds (Roxwell) Hare & Hounds (Roxwell) Robin Hood (Brentwood) Leather Bottle (Blackmore) Bell (Willingale) Anchor (Ingatestone) Red Cow (Shelley) Red Cow (Shelley) Black Bull (Chelmsford) Moulsham Lodge (Great Baddow) Royal Oak (Ongar) Victoria (Writtle) Victoria (Writtle) Plough (Mountnessing) Victoria (Writtle) Victoria (Writtle) Victoria (Writtle) Badda {Recreation} (Great Baddow)

Robin Hood (Brentwood)

1989/90 Robin Hood (Brentwood) 1990/91 Victoria 'A' (Writtle) Victoria 'A' (Writtle) 1991/92 Victoria 'A' (Writtle) 1992/93 Victoria 'A' (Writtle) 1993/94 1994/95 Victoria 'A' (Writtle) 1995/96 Ship (Chelmsford) 1996/97 Ship (Chelmsford) Ship (Chelmsford) 1997/98 1998/99 Rose & Crown (Chelmsford) 1999/00 Rose & Crown (Chelmsford) Red Lion 'A' (High Ongar) & 2000/01 Rose & Crown (Chelmsford) 2001/02 Red Lion 'A' (High Ongar) Red Lion (High Ongar) 2002/03 2003/04 Rising Sun Dragons (Brentwood) 2004/05 Chelmer Inn (Chelmsford) Chelmer Inn (Chelmsford) 2005/06 Chelmer Inn (Chelmsford) 2006/07 2007/08 Chelmer Inn (Chelmsford) 2008/09 **Chelmsford City Hammers** Eagle (Galleywood) 2009/10 Chelmsford Social Club 'B' 2010/11 2011/12 Black Bull Hammers (Margaretting) Black Bull Hammers (Margaretting) 2012/13 2013/14 Galleywood Social Club 'A' 2014/15 Gardeners (Springfield) Gardeners (Springfield) 2015/16 2016/17 Chelmsford Social Club 2017/18 Gardeners (Springfield) Gardeners (Springfield) 2018/19 2019/20 *Void Due to Covid-19* 2020/21 No League Played Chelmsford Social Club 2021/22 Chelmsford Social Club 2022/23 2023/24 Anchor (Chelmsford)

Victoria 'A' (Writtle) Alexandra (Warley) Badda {Recreation} (Great Baddow) Badda {Recreation} (Great Baddow) Alexandra (Warley) White Horse (Great Baddow) Victoria 'A' (Writtle) Victoria 'A' (Writtle) Alexandra 'B' (Warley) Alexandra 'A' (Warley) Chequers 'A' (Writtle) Joint Winners – No Runner-up

Chequers 'A' (Writtle) Chequers (Writtle) Red Lion (High Ongar) Rising Sun Dragons (Brentwood) Crown (Ingatestone) Rising Sun Dragons (Brentwood) Spread Eagle Hammers (Margaretting) Chelmer Inn (Chelmsford) Chelmsford Social Club 'B' Black Bull Hammers (Margaretting) Chelmsford Social Club 'B' Blue Lion (Chelmsford) Ingatestone Eagles (Ingatestone) Chelmsford Social Club Chelmsford Social Club Gardeners (Springfield) Chelmsford Social Club Chelmsford Social Club

Gardeners (Springfield) Gardeners (Springfield) Chelmsford Social Club