Royal Steamer Cup - Captains & Secretaries Cup

54 Competitions... 32 Winners... 2 Total Unknowns... 2 Names Unknown...

The Royal Steamer Challenge Cup was donated by "CARRERAS (OVERSEAS) LTD".

Originally introduced to be played for by team Secretaries; but between the "Royal Steamer Challenge Cup" & the "Spread Eagle Cup" in its early years, seemed to cross over or engraved wrongly.

- From 1968/69 to 1969/70 the Royal Steamer Challenge Cup was played for by each Team Secretary.
- In 1970/71 the Royal Steamer Challenge Cup was played for by the Team Captains, or was it an engraving error!
- In 1971/72 the Royal Steamer Challenge Cup was played for by the Team Secretaries.
- From 1972/73 to 2007/08 the Royal Steamer Challenge Cup was played for by the Team Captains.
- From the 2008/09 season the competition is played as a 2-man competition along with the Team Secretary!
- In 2014/15 season played as a League over 36 games (vs opposing Captain, & Secretary when playing away)
- From 2015/16 season the competition returned as a 2-man competition along with the Team Secretary!
- From 2019, because the Spread Eagle Cup was lost, became the Captains & Secretaries Cup!

Year

Winner

1968/69SEC: Charlie Hirons (Prince Albert)1969/70SEC: D Stockbridge (Woolpack)

- 1970/71 CAP: Steve Peck (Hare & Hounds)
- 1971/72 SEC: C Heslop (Royal Oak)
- 1972/73 John Driscoll (Plough)
- 1973/74 No Record (Royal Steamer)
- 1974/75 *No Record* (Leather Bottle)
- 1975/76 Derek Lodge (Bell)
- 1976/77 Derek Lodge (Bell)
- 1977/78 William Barclay (Prince Albert)
- 1978/79 *No Record*
- 1979/80 Dave Seymour (Red Cow)
- 1980/81 David Frew (Wheatsheaf)
- 1981/82 *No Record*
- 1982/83 Alfred Candler (Green Man)
- 1983/84 Geoff Smith (Crown)
- 1984/85 Michael Turner (Alma)
- 1985/86 Michael Turner (Alma)
- 1986/87 Peter Moonie (Badda)
- 1987/88 Michael Turner (Alma)
- 1988/89 Ian Williams (Alexandra)
- 1989/90 David Jarvis (Victoria)
- 1990/91 David Jarvis (Victoria A)
- 1991/92 David Jarvis (Victoria A)
- 1992/93 David Jarvis (Victoria A)
- 1993/94 John Wastenage (Prince of Wales)
- 1994/95 Les Box (Bell)
- 1995/96 Michael Turner (Victoria A)

Runner-up

SEC: D Ridley (Leather Bottle) SEC: William Barclay (Bricklayers Arms)

CAP: Mick Devenish (Two Brewers)

SEC: W Peck (Hare & Hounds)

William Barclay (Green Man) No Record No Record No Record *No Record* (Red Cow) Dave Uzzell (Bell) No Record **B** Parrish (Beehive) No Record No Record No Record No Record Ken Ellingford (Red Lion) No Record Derek Lodge (Prince Albert) Ian Williams (Alexandra) Gerry Smith (Prince Albert) Paul Doherty (Robin Hood) Barry Aspinell (Robin Hood) Michael Pearson (Warley Stars) Michael Cain (Badda) Michael Cain (Badda) Peter Sawford (Anchor) Jon Reed (Rising Sun)

1996/97 Graham Tredget (Spread Eagle) Barry Devenish (Ship) 1997/98 1998/99 Nigel Chapman (Black Bull) 1999/90 Paul Williams (Alexandra) Dean Willsher (Rose & Crown) 2000/01 2001/02 Mel Sylvester (Chequers A) 2002/03 Neil Nagle (Red Lion) Derek Lodge (Prince Albert A) 2003/04 Steve Atkins (Rising Sun Dragons) 2004/05 2005/06 Steve Atkins (Rising Sun Dragons) Mel Sylvester (Chelmer Inn) 2006/07 2007/08 Mel Sylvester (Chelmer Inn) 2008/09 John Hansell (Oddfellows Arms) Mel Sylvester (Chelmsford SC B) 2009/10 Paul Harrison (Black Bull Hammers) 2010/11 2011/12 Mel Sylvester (Chelmsford SC B) John Costigan (Royal Oak) 2012/13 2013/14 Mel Sylvester (Chelmsford SC) 2014/15 Craig Vickers (Gardeners) 2015/16 Craig Vickers (Gardeners) 2016/17 Andy Hills (Galley Enders) 2017/18 Craig Vickers (Gardeners) 2018/19 Pauline Donat & Robert Donat (Bentley Allstars) 2019/20 No Competition 2020/21 No Competition Mel Sylvester & 2021/22 Andrew Kateley (Chelmsford SC) Craig Vickers & 2022/23 Danny McIntyre (Gardeners) Anthony Potts & 2023/24 Andy Hills (Galleywood)

Jon Reed (Rising Sun) Mark Arnill (Alexandra B) Eddie Smith (Alexandra B) Tony Billson (Chequers B) Gary Mitchell (White Horse) Dean Willsher (Chelmsford Allstars) Eddie Smith (Horse & Groom) Richard Dow (Chelmsford Social Club) Trevor Crook (Royal Oak A) Alan Morton (Fox & Hounds B) Michael Green (Rising Sun Bees) Peter Cable (Eagle)

Mel Sylvester (Chelmer Inn) Ricky Elliott (Black Bull Hammers) Mark Robinson (Forresters) Dave Hickson (Rising Sun Cockles) Mel Sylvester (Chelmsford SC) Pauline Donat (Bentley Allstars)

Andy Hills (GalleyEnders)

Mel Sylvester (Chelmsford SC) Jason Bates (BMS Eagles) Scott Hance (Compasses)

Dan Gough & Adrian Martins (Chequers)

Jason Bates & Bob Elliott (BMS Eagles) Lewis Hayes & Sean Willis (CSC Kings) Dean Scott & Mark Blackburn (Wheatsheaf)